Go TO Content

Jiangjyun District is one of Tainan City's coastal districts and lies to the south of Beimen District. The name Jiangjyun (literally translates as "General") is derived from the Qing Dynasty general_Shih Lang. As a reward for his successful conquest of Taiwan, the imperial court allowed him to keep all the land circumvented by a horse galloping for three days. General Shih Lang thus dispatched the horse eastwards from Mashagou at the western corner of Jiangjyun District, passing through Shihyejia She (modern day Shanzaijiao of Jiangjyun District). However, the horse broke its hooves at Jiangjyun Manor (another version mentioned Ouwang). Shih Lang thus decided to establish his manor, Jiangjyun Fu, at this location. All the land spanned by the horse came under his name as the domains of Marquis Shih. Administrative offices were also constructed to aid in the management of this area, and there were 10 such offices at the height of this region's development. Later, Shih Lang led his clan as well as his relatives from the Wu and Wang clans to settle along the banks of Ouwang River (Jiangyun River) to form Jiangjyun Manor. By the reign of Emperor Daoguang, Shih Lang's descendants had settled in Beijing, having sold sex of these rental offices and delegating supervisors to help manage the farming activities of the remaining 4 renting offices. When Taiwan came under the Japanese occupation, the Japanese confiscated the lands as public property since the Shih clan was not Japanese. Legend has it that when Shih Lang established his residence in this area, he hung two great lanterns for his own clan as well as the Wu clan (who were his relatives) from the main pillars of his manor. At night, the Wu's lantern shone brightly, while the Shih's lantern flickered, an omen that foretold the prosperity of the Wu clan and the dwindling of the Shih clan. When the Lukang people revolted and the local officials pleaded for support (in the event known as Shi Jiao Quells the Uprising), a vast majority of the Shih clans people migrated north to Lukang, leaving only a family scion that maintained marriage ties to the Wu clan. This gave rise to the modern saying in Jiangjyun Jhuang: Shih Lang Kai Jhaung, Jyu Jhuang Jie Wu (Shih Lang founded the Manor, but the Wu clan peopled it).


Jiangjyun District can be divided into three areas, namely Sipu, Sijia, and Siliao. The Sipu area refers to the four Plains of the Wu Clan, namely Jiangjyun Jhuang, Beipu. Shanzaijiao, and Mashagou. The Sijia area refers to the four acres of Ouwang, namely Dongjia, Sijia, Beijia, and Jhongjia. Finally, the Siliao area refers to the four Houses of Lingzailiao, namely Dingliao, Jhongliao, Sialiao and Kantouliao. After World War II, the villages were consolidated into a Township administration. Dr. Huang Cing-wu, then the Township Mayor, intended to rename the Township as Wunheng after Ouwang's Wunheng Temple. The county government disagreed with this proposal and dismissed it, opting instead for Jiangjyun Township, which was adopted from Jiangjyun Jhuang used during the Japanese occupation. Local people still refer to the region by its short name: Jiang Jhuang.


A total of 24 villages were established after the war in accordance with the Baojia System implemented during the Japanese rule. The first delegated Township Mayor Dr. Huang Cing-wu and Mr. Ciou Long-cun, acting secretary of the Autonomous Section, determined the names of the villages. To do this, they took the first word of the original village and appended a good character or provided the village with a virtuous name. Such names, however, were often unrelated to the original names and some were outright meaningless. In 1978, village consolidation programs reduced the number of villages from 24 to 18 in accordance with population number. This gave rise to the popular saying of Er shih sih cun bian shih ba cun (changing 24 villages to 18). 


Jiangjyun is a coastal district with poor, salty, and alkaline soils. Under the counseling of the Farmer's Association, many farmers have started growing greater burdocks, though carrots remain a local specialty. Jiangjyun District is also considered the carrot capital of Taiwan.


Data acquired as of 24 December 2010 (Tainan City and Tainan County were consolidated on December 25, 2010; the original name of Jiangjyun Township of Tainan County was updated to Jiangjyun District of Tainan City).